According to a rule of thumb, payday lenders should not be providing anyone with more than one payday loan at any given time. This would not only not be in the spirit of the industry, but it would also not be in the interests of the borrower.Aug 20, 2018
Many states defer to contract law instead of usury law. For example, in California the maximum interest rate is set at 12 percent, however, the law states that banks and similar institutions are exempt. This is also the case in Florida, Minnesota, and New Jersey, among others.Jan 21, 2020
You can have more than one personal loan with some lenders or you can have multiple personal loans across different lenders. You're generally more likely to be blocked from getting multiple loans by the lender than the law. Lenders may limit the number of loans — or total amount of money — they'll give you.
Payday loans & Illinois consumer rights Consumers have the following rights and protections for payday loans under Illinois law: Consumers cannot be charged fees of more than $15.50 per $100 borrowed. A lender may not sue a consumer until 28 days after the loan was due or the repayment plan ended.Nov 23, 2009